Conference Schedule

Full Conference Schedule PDF

If you have any questions or concerns about the schedule, please contact us using our “Contact” page. Note: Poster session easel numbers have been added to the schedule.

Keynote Speaker
October 14, 2016

Dr. Amie McKibban
University of Southern Indiana

Dr. Amie McKibbanIn the early 2000s, Dr. Amie McKibban worked as a program coordinator for a federally funded, comprehensive teen pregnancy prevention program that served an entire county in Kansas. Following the elimination of federal funding for comprehensive sex education under George Bush’s first term as president, Dr. McKibban re-entered academia and in 2009 joined the University of Southern Indiana faculty after completing her PhD in community psychology at Wichita State University.

For the last two years, Dr. McKibban has focused on a community wide assessment of areas of LGBT inclusivity, which has resulted in a usable community asset map (Map Evansville) for individuals and companies in the Evansville, Indiana area. With backing from two grants and endorsements from local groups like the Vanderburgh Community Foundation, Lampion Center, and Youth Resources, the project has been recognized by the Society for Community Research and Action, resulting in the Best Paper Award at the Midwest Ecological Community Psychology Conference in November, 2013. Additionally, she and Dr. Stephanie Young co-founded a community- and campus-wide Tri-State Safe Zone Initiative. This program has trained over 600 participants across the University of Southern Indiana, the University of Evansville, Ivy Tech Community College, Henderson Community College, Echo Community Health Care, Deaconess Health Care, and the community at large.

As a testament to her passion and dedication, Dr. McKibban has received the Willie Effie Thomas Leadership Award and the Phenomenal Women of USI award. Further, the Tri-State Safe Zone initiative was recognized by the Human Relations Commission and Mayor Lloyd Winnecke with the Willie Effie Thomas Organizational Award.

October 14, 2016

3:30 – 4:30 Registration
4:30 – 5:30 Reception
5:30 – 6:30 Keynote Speaker

October 15, 2016

8:00 – 8:50 Breakfast and Registration
9:00 – 9:40 Session 1
9:50 – 11:20 Session 2
11:30- 12:50 Lunch
11:50- 12:30 Poster Session
12:50- 2:20 Session 3
2:30 – 4:00 Session 4
4:10 – 4:30 Closing Ceremony


Register in the Schmitt Academic Center Room 154 at 2320 N Kenmore Ave, Chicago, IL 60614. Entrance is through Levan/O’Connell hall. See map below.


For directions navigating the DePaul Lincoln Park campus: DePaul Campus Map

Midwest Eco 2016 is proud to be sponsored by the Irwin W. Steans Center at DePaul University. You can follow them on Facebook and Twitter.